Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

join my notify list:
email:

sign my guestbook!

100 Things

Tuesday, Mar. 25, 2003

Tired.

I've seen Anton a couple of times now. He seems to have backed off. I guess he senses my disgust, or else he's no longer interested now that he's figured out there's no sex in it for him. Either way, good!

Mat Gleason is always writing about his dislike of "self-masturbatory" art. I can't really figure this out. I keep wondering if my art is a form self masturbation. But even if it is... what's wrong with masturbation? Isn't it also something that humans do? If someone makes art for their pleasure, isn't that a good thing? And it still can speak to other people as well, right? Don't some people like to watch others masturbate?

I tried to go see the Laura Owens show to see if I thought it sucked shit like everyone says. Unfortunately, I went to the wrong place. Oops! So I just bought an Egon Shiele book in the store and went home to watch American Idol. I'll go to the correct place later in the week.

What kind of art do I hate...? I hate art that really tries hard. I hate art that looks like it's made by an angry student, trying to be angry, like, "RRRR'" black drippy smudges, "RRRR!" I also hate art that tries very hard to be realistic, and then fails. I hate art that tries to shock me for the sake of nothing. I hate jokes and tricks. I hate polaroids of cat parts with a price tag of $50.00. I hate art that sits on the edge of graphic art and fine art. I hate art with grandiose art statements on the wall. I hate boring shit.

I like snoopies, obsessive decorative patterns, luscious painterly-ness, dreamy-ness, yummy surfaces, interesting yet straightforward ideas, overdone, piled-on, as well as sparse. I like the art in Richard Heller's gallery. I like Ossorio, Klimpt, Shiele, Chihuli, Hundertwasser, Bleckner, Moreau, Morris, Schwitters, and Cardinal-Schubert.

I wonder if any of them are self-masturbatory. I bet some of them were total masturbator-mongers! I mean, I know Gleason doesn't mean it literally, but... maybe I'm too immature to get beyond the metaphor.

I only have one woman on that list. stinky. oh well.

Discovered Evanescence (sp?) tonight. They're great! (the band).

_________________________________________________________________

>what i'm painting: shit. I hate it right now.
>what sucks: dental appointment tomorrow
>what doesn't: bed time now, pile of good books by my bed!

previous - nextvvv==========gvvv

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!