Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

join my notify list:
email:

sign my guestbook!

100 Things

Saturday, Mar. 22, 2003

Last night I went to a talk on the L.A. art scene. Mat Gleason was hosting the talk with artists Llyn Foulkes and Brian Ruppel. It was quite informative and entertaining. Foulkes is an older man with a long established career in art. At every question he answered he would go on and on - it was interesting to listen to his stories, but I think the other two kept wanting him to cut it a bit shorter so they could get on with it. It made a nice character foil for Ruppel, who was younger, with quicker and shorter answers.

These two artists have 'made it'. Here's what I learned: 1. chew gum (the artists were both happily chewing away throughout) 2. just make the art. concentrate on that part of it. 3. don't worrry about having some perfect plan and 4. galleries can be fishy so don't just count on them. 'take back your power as an artist' as Brian put it.

ok!

What did I learn about the L.A. art scene? Well, it kind of reminded me of being in Canada, where Canadians are so angsty about their identity, constantly wondering who they are if they are aren't the USA. I guess L.A. art people are constantly wondering who they are if they're not New York. But I think the answer is merely "warmer".

I went all alone. I felt like puking before leaving, but I called Shannie and she told me to go. Thanks, Shan!

At some point this audience guy took the opportunity to argue about digital art and hand the speakers his art card. I was jealous of his bravery. Afterward, all I did was bolt for the door.

I should have stayed and forced myself to say one little thing to someone, but I dunno, my mouth hurt (from the root canals). I did however, buy a book called "Shyness: A Bold New Approach." HA! I really did. It was recommended to me by my brother awhile ago, but last night reminded me to get it as I had to battle my nauseausness before and after the thingie.

alright, time to just make the art!

_________________________________________________________________

>what i'm painting: spotty leaves
>what sucks: shyness
>what doesn't: books on shyness

previous - nextvvv==========gvvv

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!